BAFTA Games Awards: Ragnarok Becomes Most-Nominated Game Ever

On March 30th, the BAFTA Games Awards ceremony goes live, and some of the most prestigious awards in the industry are handed out to hard-working developers, actors, and creative individuals. Hours ago, the nominations for the event were revealed, and with a dominating presence over competing titles, God of War Ragnarok has been nominated fourteen times.

This makes God of War Ragnarok the most-nominated game ever at the BAFTA Games Awards since the event first began in 2004, but it’s followed quite closely behind by Horizon Forbidden West, which boasts eleven nominations.

In total, there are forty-five games being recognised at the BAFTA Games Awards.

The Glory Continues at the BAFTA Games Awards

Last year, at The Game Awards, Christopher Judge won the award for Best Performance for his role as Kratos in God of War Ragnarok. He set an all-time record for the longest speech in the history of the show, which went down in infamy for the specific reason that the show’s organisers were on a shoestring budget with time.

Judge is being nominated at the BAFTA Games Awards in a similar category, so let’s hope he’s worked on bringing down that overall speech duration a little.

Here’s a quick breakdown of all the categories in which God of War Ragnarok has received a nomination:

  • Animation
  • Artistic Achievement
  • Audio Achievement
  • Best Game
  • Game Design
  • Music
  • Narrative
  • Performer in a Leading Role
    • Christopher Judge as Kratos
    • Sunny Suljic as Atreus
  • Performer in a Supporting Role
    • Adam J. Harrington as Sindri
    • Danielle Bisutti as Freya
    • Laya Deleon Hayes as Angrboda
    • Ryan Hurst as Thor
  • Technical Achievement

For Best Game at the BAFTA Games Awards, which is seen as one of the most important awards at the show, God of War Ragnarok will need to compete with the likes of Cult of the Lamb, Elden Ring, Marvel Snap, Stray, and Vampire Survivors.

However, there’s also the EE Game of the Year award to consider, which features a similar line-up: Ragnarok, Elden Ring, Horizon Forbidden West, Immortality, Marvel Snap, and Stray. There’s a key difference in this category, though – the public votes on the winner of this award.

Weeks ago, it was revealed that God of War Ragnarok had sold more than 11 million copies. Days later, it was reported online that the game’s original story would have seen Kratos die in the opening scenes – dramatic!

The BAFTA Games Awards will be available to watch online on March 30th.

For more Insider Gaming news, check out our coverage of the new trailer showcasing Dead Island 2.