Top PlayStation Stars Members Will Get Priority Support

Sony has announced that players in PlayStation’s tier 4 star loyalty program will get priority in customer chat support. The promise for tier 4 players is that “when contacting PlayStation Customer Support, you will be given priority in the chat order”.

Tier 4 PlayStation Star players can reach the tier by purchasing four full-price games from the PlayStation Store and earning 128 rare trophies.

The decision has been met with criticism online, as the tier 4 reward means you’re likely to get a worse experience if you’re not at this tier.

What is PlayStation Stars?

PlayStation Stars is a new free loyalty program by PlayStation. PlayStation Stars lets players earn rewards by completing different campaigns and activities. You can earn rewards in several different ways:

  • Play a PlayStation game once a month
  • Online tournaments
  • Complete specific trophies
  • Be the first person to complete Platinum for a specific game

Rewards will include PSN wallet funds and PlayStation Store products, in addition to also earning “digital collectibles”.

“Digital collectibles are beautifully rendered, digital representations of things that PlayStation fans enjoy, including figurines of beloved and iconic characters from games and other forms of entertainment, as well as cherished devices that tap into Sony’s history of innovation. There will be new collectibles to earn regularly, ultra-rare collectibles to strive for, or something surprising to collect just for fun.”, the blog reads.

PlayStation has said that digital collectibles are not NFT’s.

PlayStation Stars will be available in Asia from September 29th, in the Americas on October 5th, and in Europe and Australia on October 13th.

For more news, check out our article on the Dead Space Remake where it’s understood that the game will have full gameplay reveal in mid-October. You can also check out our exclusive on Disney wanting a new Star Wars game every 6 months.