How Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Dynamic Difficulty Works

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Cloud and Sephiroth
Screenshot by Insider Gaming

Whether you want a challenge or play for the story, Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth offers four unique difficulty modes that cater to everyone’s playstyle. Here is how Dynamic Difficulty in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth works!

Difficulty Modes in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth features multiple difficulty levels to choose from when beginning a new game, depending on the level of challenge you prefer in your RPGs. These difficulty modes include:

  • Easy
    • The overall challenge is quite relaxed, with enemies dealing less damage but taking more.
  • Normal
    • The base difficulty for the game, with hard-hitting enemies but more complex battle mechanics compared to the previous game.
  • Dynamic
    • Every enemy now scales in level alongside you, making for challenging yet rewarding combat encounters.
  • Hard
    • Only unlockable upon completing the main story but features enemies that do more damage and take less overall.

How Dynamic Difficulty in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Works

The most exciting of the four difficulty modes in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is easily Dynamic Difficulty. It’s a brand-new mode added in Rebirth, unavailable in Remake, and features level-scaling enemies that become more powerful and challenging alongside you and your party.

Overall, the goal of Dynamic Difficulty in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is to ensure players feel as if the game is less like a grind overall. With enough EXP, you can still become powerful enough to vanquish foes, plus choosing the right Materia, Synergy Abilities, and weapons all still make a difference!

For more Final Fantasy guides from Insider Gaming, check out How to Defeat Materia Guardian in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth!