Ubisoft Will Delete Everything If Your Account Is Inactive
Ubisoft has since published information clearing up the concerns that it’ll delete all your games and close your account with ’30 days’ notice’ – which was never right from the start, as we’ve explained below.
It was recently revealed that Ubisoft has an account closure process that’ll see your history with the firm totally wiped if you remain inactive for too long. This was made clear by the company’s support staff, and it has drastic ramifications. It means that your account will be automatically deleted – purchases, unlocks, progress, and everything else – if you remain inactive for a little too long.
It doesn’t matter if you’ve spent $500 on the platform and logged thousands of hours – if you stop using Ubisoft’s services for a little too long, they’ll ping you an email warning you of the imminent closure of your account. If you then ignore – or totally miss – that email, then you can kiss your Ubisoft account goodbye.
How Long Do You Have?
From what we can see, the duration that you need to surpass before you’re classed as ‘too inactive’ isn’t set in stone, but some users have speculated that it could be anything from two years to six years – or more, according to some. Once you’ve passed that threshold, you’ll have thirty days following the warning email to log into your account.
It’s assumed that even a simple log-in is enough to be considered active once again.
If you’d bought every Assassin’s Creed game, a few Far Cry titles, and perhaps some Splinter Cell or Rainbow Six games, you’d lose them all if you remained inactive for too long with Ubisoft.
What do you think about this revelation? Are you enraged, or do you think it just makes sense?