How to Play Tomb Raider Games in Order

Tomb Raider Ruins
Image via Crystal Dynamics

There’s never a wrong time to sit down and enjoy an action-adventure game like those in the Tomb Raider series. They combine storytelling and popcorn gameplay perfectly, making for an enjoyable experience. But picking and choosing randomly isn’t enough. Here is how to play Tomb Raider games in order!

All Tomb Raider Games in Order

Following the recent announcement that Hayley Atwell will take on the role of Lara Croft in the upcoming Tomb Raider anime on Netflix, folks worldwide want to revisit the games. I’m one of them. I want to replay all of them but in chronological order. Here’s the complete list of Tomb Raider games in order from early days to today:

  • Original Saga
    • Tomb Raider (1996)
    • Tomb Raider II (1997)
    • Tomb Raider III (1998)
    • Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)
    • Tomb Raider: Chronicles (2000)
    • Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness (2003)
  • Legend of Tomb Raider
    • Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)
    • Tomb Raider Anniversary (2007)
    • Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)
  • Survivor Trilogy
    • Tomb Raider (2013)
    • Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)
    • Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

What is the Best Tomb Raider Game of All Time?

Well, there’s a tricky question. It’s subjective. If you can only choose one Tomb Raider game to play in your spare time, I would recommend either Tomb Raider Underworld (2008) or Tomb Raider (2013).

Why Underworld? That’s an odd choice, right? Well, yes and no. If you’re brand-new to the franchise, you might miss out on a few story beats, which you can watch on YouTube to bring yourself up to speed. But the original trilogy from the mid-to late-90s, while fantastic in their own right, proves somewhat dated. The gameplay, specifically the movement and combat, can weigh down the experience.

As for Tomb Raider (2013), it’s an exceptional reboot all around. Our main character, a young Lara Croft, is well-written and relatable. The movement, combat, and exploration all feel fluid and enjoyable, and the various setpieces across the island feel memorable overall. I mean, do you remember the plane crash scene?

Ultimately, if you want to play all of the Tomb Raider games in order, then start with the original from 1996!

If you’ve spent any time collecting digital games over the years, then you’ll likely want to read about what happens to your game library when you pass away. But for less doom and gloom, don’t forget to subscribe to the Insider Gaming Newsletter!