What Games Are in the Call of Duty Black Ops Series?

Call of Duty remains one of the most highly coveted and anticipated titles every year, with a new release coming out like clockwork. Now that we have official confirmation regarding Call of Duty: Black Ops 6, coming in October of this year, let’s take a look back at the whole story arc. Here are all of the games in the Call of Duty Black Ops series!

Every Black Ops Game in the Series

There are, with the recent announcement of the sixth entry, a total of seven Call of Duty games in the Black Ops series but six mainline entries. You have:

  • Call of Duty: Black Ops (2010)
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops II (2012)
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops III (2015)
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 (2018)
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War (2020)
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 (2024)

However, if we’re talking about the entire story arc leading up to this point, then we must consider Call of Duty: World at War (2008), as it’s something of a prequel to the entire story arc. Of course, it does not feature the same naming scheme as the rest of the sub-series, and it’s often forgotten as part of the storyline.

Key Characters From the Black Ops Series

Back when Call of Duty campaigns were thrill rides worth taking, the stories introduced players to countless iconic characters. Some of the most memorable include:

  • Frank Woods
  • Alex Mason
  • Viktor Reznov
  • Jason Hudson

We know for certain we’ll see Frank Woods in Call of Duty: Black Ops 6. We might even see Alex Mason. But as for the many other characters we’ve met over the years, it’s unlikely we’ll see many.

But hey, here’s to new characters in the franchise!

While we all sit casually waiting for more information from the Black Ops series, check out what else Insider Gaming posts daily: